The page uses Browser Access Keys to help with keyboard navigation. Click to learn moreSkip to Navigation

Different browsers use different keystrokes to activate accesskey shortcuts. Please reference the following list to use access keys on your system.

Alt and the accesskey, for Internet Explorer on Windows
Shift and Alt and the accesskey, for Firefox on Windows
Shift and Esc and the accesskey, for Windows or Mac
Ctrl and the accesskey, for the following browsers on a Mac: Internet Explorer 5.2, Safari 1.2, Firefox, Mozilla, Netscape 6+.

We use the following access keys on our gateway

n Skip to Navigation
k Accesskeys description
h Help
University of South Carolina    
  Feb 20, 2018
2017-2018 School of Medicine Bulletin



  • Executive Dean: Leslie W. Hall, M.D.
  • Senior Associate Dean: R. Caughman Taylor, M.D.
  • Associate Dean for Administration and Finance: Jeffrey L. Perkins, CHFP, CIA, CPA, MBA
  • Associate Dean for Clinical Affairs and Chief Medical Officer: William D. Anderson III, M.D.
  • Associate Dean for Continuous Professional Development and Strategic Affairs: Morris J. Blachman, Ph.D.
  • Associate Dean for Diversity and Inclusion: Carol L. McMahon, M.D.
  • Associate Dean for Graduate Medical Education: Katherine G. Stephens, Ph.D.
  • Associate Dean for Medical Education and Academic Affairs: Joshua T. Thornhill IV, M.D.
  • Associate Dean for Research and Graduate Education, Francis G. Spinale, M.D., Ph.D.
  • Assistant Dean for Clinical Curriculum and Assessment: Nancy A. Richeson, M.D.
  • Assistant Dean for Clinical Learning: Suzanne M. Bertollo, M.D.
  • Assistant Dean for Diversity and Inclusion: Robert M. Rhinehart, Ph.D.
  • Assistant Dean for Executive Affairs and Director of Library Services: Ruth A. Riley, M.S.
  • Assistant Dean for Information Technology and Chief Information Officer: D. Lindsie Cone, M.D.
  • Assistant Dean for Medical Student Education-Florence: William H. Hester, MD
  • Assistant Dean for Preclinical Curriculum: Lynn K. Thomas, Dr.P.H.
  • Assistant Dean for Student Affairs: Donald J. Kenney, Ph.D.
  • Director of Admissions and Enrollment Services/Registrar: Robert M. Rhinehart, Ph.D.
  • Director of Medical Student Recruitment: James R. Stallworth, M.D.

Department Chairs

  • Chair, Department of Cell Biology and Anatomy: Wayne E. Carver, Ph.D.
  • Chair, Department of Family and Preventive Medicine: Edward J. Mayeaux, M.D.
  • Chair, Department of Internal Medicine: Helmut Albrecht, M.D.
  • Chair, Department of Neurology: Souvik Sen, M.D.
  • Chair, Department of Neuropsychiatry and Behavioral Science: Meera Narasimhan, M.D.
  • Chair, Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology: Judith T. Burgis, M.D.
  • Chair, Department of Ophthalmology: John A. Wells, M.D.
  • Chair, Department of Orthopaedic Surgery: John J. Walsh IV, M.D.
  • Chair, Department of Pathology, Microbiology and Immunology: Mitzi Nagarkatti, Ph.D.
  • Chair, Department of Pediatrics: R. Caughman Taylor, M.D.
  • Chair, Department of Pharmacology, Physiology and Neuroscience: Marlene A. Wilson, Ph.D.
  • Chair, Department of Radiology: Floyd E. Bell III, M.D.
  • Chair, Department of Surgery: Daniel G. Clair, M.D.